Dragon Age Origins – Return to Ostagar Finally Hits XBL, PC, PSN


It’s been quite a wait-and-see story from EA BioWare and it’s 2009 RPG of the Year, Dragon Age Origins with relation to their released-then-pulled-then-redated-but-not-really DLC package, Return to Ostagar.

Straight from the horse’s mouth at BioWare’s Victor Wachter, Community Lead for DAO:

Hi all,

We’ve confirmed with Microsoft that the Xbox 360 Title Update and Return to Ostagar for the Xbox 360 will be released in the early hours tomorrow morning, January 29, 2010.

We currently expect the update to occur starting at the following local times on that date:

Title Update:
1AM PST (San Francisco)
2AM MST (Edmonton)
4AM EST (New York)
9AM GMT (London)

Return to Ostagar:
2AM PST (San Francisco)
3AM MST (Edmonton)
5AM EST (New York)
10AM GMT (London)

If you were able to download Return to Ostagar during its previous release, you will not need to download it a second time. However, you will need to download the new version of the title update.

The PC and PlayStation 3 versions are still in testing. We expect the PC to complete testing in time for release early next week. We will update you with PlayStation 3 status when we have more information.

Title Update Release Notes:

Some players were unable to unlock the four achievements from Warden’s Keep and the Stone Prisoner during the first four days of launch. These achievements will unlock properly once you sign in to your Xbox Live and EA accounts.

The previous Xbox 360 update update introduced an issue that relocked class specializations. This title update will resolve that issue.

* After loading a previously saved game, specializations that have been unlocked through gameplay will be available again.
* All book-based specializations will now automatically unlock once the Warden reaches level 14. Books will still be available from vendors so you can unlock these specializations before level 14.

The Hopeless Romantic, Perfectionist and Recruiter achievements were not unlocking for some players. This issue has been resolved. To update and unlock these achievements automatically, load a saved game where the Warden has completed the requirements for these achievements.

* The Recruiter achievement will still require a recruitment to occur after the save is loaded. If you have completed all the requirements for Recruiter, and the achievement is still locked, load an earlier saved game where you are still able to recruit any party member. Once you have recruited a party member, the achievement should unlock. This should work even if your current saved game still has unrecruited characters, but you have recruited all of them in previous play.

Thanks for playing Dragon Age: Origins, and we hope you enjoy Return to Ostagar!

There you have it folks. For those of you that bought it in EARLY January (when it was released, but later pulled), enjoy yourselves. For those that haven’t bought it, it’s JUST $5, which is a steal compared other DLC packs that have been released by other companies.

Source: BioWare Social Network (link above), via

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,