Soundtrack Collaborations for Dragon Age 2 Announced

As you know, the Dragon Age: Origins soundtrack is, in my opinion, one of the most epic and beautiful pieces of music recently composed. Made by the same genius behind the Fallout 3 and Prince of Persia’s soundtracks; Inon Zur, the DA:O music boasted beautiful dark fantasy tunes coupled with elvish lyrics performed by Aubrey Ashburn for maximum awesomeness. Well, Bioware has just announced Inon Zur would continue providing his compositions for the upcoming role-playing game “Dragon Age 2“, now in collaboration with the Grammy Awards Best New Artist Nominee Florence + The Machine.

Zur will be serving as a producer for an original version of Florence + The Machine‘s “I’m not calling you a liar“, reportedly isolating Florence voice and fully orchestrating the background. In the words of Steve Schnur, Worldwide Executive of Music and Marketing for EA, “what was originally a powerfully stark, acoustic-based song has been reborn with all-new instrumentation and full orchestration. The results are an epic anthem for the next stage of the Dragon Age legend“.

This means only good news for music enthusiasts and gamers alike, as Zur’s work has been universally praised and one effective tool to embrace immersion in Bioware’s epic tale. Here’s some excerpt from the press release:

Part one of the Dragon Age II soundtrack* will be available for purchase on March 8, 2011 at all digital music service providers worldwide for $3.99.

The following tracks will be included:

· Dragon Age II Main Theme
· Hawke Family Theme
· Qunari On The Rise
· Templars
· Love Scene
· Arishok
· Tavern Music
· Viscount
· Mages
· Fenris Theme
· Kirkwall Nights
· Rogue Heart

To hear a small sampling of the soundrack, “Hawke Family Theme” and “Qunari on the Rise,” please visit

*Those who pre-ordered the Dragon Age II BioWare Signature Edition will receive the full soundtrack at no additional cost.

Here‘s the complete press release for your reading pleasure.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,